Charlie’s Garden

Last week, on my lunch break I stumbled across a real gem, smack bang in the middle of the city. A really pretty edible garden! I did not, unfortunately have my camera on me so I had to make do with my iphone.

Image

Still I think I managed to snap some good pics anyway just enough to inspire us all to get cracking putting our green thumbs to work. How about a small vegetable garden like the one I came across at Charlie’s garden? Among other things I really liked how there was ivy and rose compost.

IMG_0883 IMG_0890 IMG_0910IMG_0891

I noticed corn and kale at first but as I peered closely I was nicely surprised to find some more exotic items like Kefir lime’s with their unusual shaped double pronged leaves. Every time I am in front of a citrus tree I automatically pick a leaf or two and scrunch it up in my hands and stand there inhaling for long periods. Lost in the moment…again.

IMG_0900 IMG_0901 IMG_0902IMG_0892

Even if you are living in a tiny little space and feel all you have to offer is a sunny window sill – fear not! because that’s pretty much all you need to grow some basic staples like herbs or cherry tomato’s and maybe even a flower pot.

IMG_0897 IMG_0904 IMG_0906 IMG_0889

Oh, I could go on about the basil, mint, sage and parsley or how about the lemongrass, pumpkin, lettuce or rocket? However, I think I’ll just keep this post simple by letting you see for yourself. Also I must mention that as I was finishing up my lunch and heading back to base, I noticed the front of someones home had a little vegie patch and flower baskets adorning each window and I just couldn’t help myself but to snap it up which is my featured image. This is how I envision the front of my window to be in the near future when I finally pull my finger out…

IMG_0911IMG_0913IMG_0912 IMG_0914IMG_0885IMG_0882

And last but not least, I have never ever seen such gigantic eucalyptus leaves in my entire life as being on this planet – ever! And so colorful too! I may have to return to this place of beauty and snap some more shots and edit this post again!

Leave a Reply

